Places to Visit in Argentina

iguazu-9-620x465Argentina is a country located to the southernmost part of planet Earth, near Antarctica. According to Humanity’s Heritage list, there are nine places that are considered World Heritage Sites:

Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis

It was inducted into the World Heritage Site list 30 years ago. It has historical significance as it belonged to the people who were part of the old Jesuit Province of Paraguay. This settlement dates back to the early seventeenth century.

National Park Los Glaciares

Inducted 35 years ago, this park which also borders with Chile has a beautiful and unique landscape with mountains, forests and lakes. More than half of it is covered by glaciers, hence the name.

National Park Iguazu

This place is famous all over the world, since together with the Niagara Falls, The Iguazu falls are the biggest waterfalls in the whole world. This beautiful national park is located on the border of Brazil and boasts one of the richest flora and fauna varieties in the country.

Las Manos’ Cave

Located in the province of Santa Cruz, south of Argentina, this cave has paintings on its wall which are basically artistic handprints. The amazing thing about this cave is that it proves that people already had an artistic inclination more than 10 thousand years ago.

The Valdes Peninsula

It is a natural reserve where elephants, sea lions, penguins, whales and many other animals live in harmony.

Natural Parks of Ischigualasto and Talampaya

These stunning parks were the first heritage sites to join the list in the current century. They were inducted 16 years ago. This park features a desert valley and a rich variety of flora and fauna. Anyone who has been there knows why this place is worth preserving.

Quebrada de Humahuaca

It is perhaps the most important part of the Inca Trail and features a beautiful valley.